chrono-trigger-cover-playstation

I’ve played this game at least 300 times, I generally play it more than once a year (play = complete) because Chrono Trigger is the best RPG ever made, with FF6FF7, FF9, FF10, Chrono Cross, and Super Mario RPG also in that list. So the game is a 5 out of 5, 10 out of 10, whatever scoring system you want to use, hands down. Are there some plot-holes or story-line inconsistencies if you think too hard about it, or loose ends? Yes, all time travel stories have them because hipsters will always try to point them out whether they do or do not exist. That doesn’t change the fact that it’s the best RPG ever.

This review is specific to the PSX version which I downloaded on PSN – the one from Final Fantasy Chronicles, which itself is over a decade old at this point. It added anime stuff which was cool and added a little to the game, and I believe it added some weapons or something. Here’s the problem with the PSN port. A ZSnes ROM of this game runs significantly better, on anything – Xbox, PC, Android, any emulator even if it isn’t ZSnes – than the PS3 Playstation emulator does. It’s ridiculous, we’re talking 5 second delays every time the game has to load anything – and that’s every 2 seconds because it’s an RPG.

I’m pretty sure they also screwed with the music, evidenced by the opening theme which they butchered. I purchased the OST import from Japan about 18 years ago and I still have it to this day – the soundtrack has been altered. They also completely got rid of the  clock pendulum title screen from the real game, which is just entirely unacceptable. Nothing whatsoever needed to be changed in this game – additions are fine, not changes.

I don’t regret the 10 dollars spent, because I’d spend 100 or more additional dollars on this game, but this ROM is terrible. Thus, I give the PSN version (even the original PSX game ran fine because it was the disc and this is a terrible emulator) a 6/10.

