Walking Dead Ep. 2: Starved for Help

When the Walking Dead video game first appeared on the radar, I kind of scoffed at it. While I am not a huge fan of the Comic Books just yet, I have read some of them and I am a rabid fan of the AMC series. I can recognize its faults and, though Bear McCreary does the music – as every good show is scored by him – I often lost faith during Season 2, as did most people – just as I did with Battlestar Galactica during the last ten episodes, when things were painfully slow and then ended with a sudden, glorious boom.

Many people hate thoroughly on the show, but that’s because the internet and our society simply breeds pricks who can’t appreciate anything. Many people online rave about how the game is immensely better than the show, and I’m starting to agree with them slightly.

The first episode was great. This second episode absolutely blows the first one out of the water.

I think most of the reason the game is able to succeed is, well, other than the far increased development time and game time per episode (as compared to 43 minutes per episode of the show), it is a game. It doesn’t have to adhere to network standards. They can curse all they want. They can kill who they want, be as candid as they want. That, and the game puts you in a position of control over the development of the storyline.

There are moments, especially in this episode – and a lot of them – where I find myself so engrossed in the story that I have the same reactions as the characters themselves. On the way to the farm, I myself said Jesus christ a few seconds before Carly did, and believe me I am no squeamish person nor am I anything but completely desensitized to violence. For a cel shaded video game to still deliver dramatic violence as well as real video does, it had to have been done correctly.

The subject matter in episode 2 was far more gritty and far more unabridged than episode 1, and it made it that much more engrossing. There were times where I definitely found myself stuck as to what decision to make, especially when it came to whether or not to kill people – and the end of the episode was a hard moral choice, though I made it without any hesitation.

I’m not the type who plays this kind of game – ever – but I do believe that Telltale studios has struck gold with this game, in all honesty. If you haven’t checked out episode 1 and 2 yet, I strongly suggest you do so. I know when I purchased it it was 25 dollars for all of the future episodes, I don’t know if that deal is still available. It may have been $29.99, I’m not positive, but this is one game purchase I have not regretted at any point, and I have two complaints about this game, period:

1) You cannot use an interaction prompt with an item while moving

2) Sometimes the path-finding is wonky, but only rarely.

Very few games invest me in the storyline and this one finds me yelling at Lee, yelling at NPCs not to do things they are doing. It makes me consider my decisions before making them, and I never renege and play through again to make a different decision – unless I’m going to make an entirely new game.

Even the character’s I don’t like, when they die, it strikes a chord with me. Even the characters who aren’t that prominent.

My one question is, where’s Glenn?  He wasn’t in the camp, at all. I’m 100% positive he didn’t die in Ep. 1.

Leave a Reply

